Installing Elixir using Chef

https://github.com/parroty/chef-cookbook-elixir

I was working on Chef over the holidays. I’m finally getting to grasp its concept after the certain amount of struggle, though there still be a lot to go. I’ve uploaded the cookbook to install elixir, which I could create so far. I was originally thinking to write a script for deploying dynamo web application, but being stopped at the elixir part yet.

Recent growth in providers (AWS, Digital Ocean, etc.) or tools (Vagrant, Docker, etc.) pretty much makes it easier to experiment on clean servers, but still need to face some complexities on actual OS and distributions. I was playing around Ubuntu and CentOS on different versions, and each has different dependencies and errors, and I needed a lot of try and errors.

Posted on January 5, 2014, in Elixir, Web. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

